Cycling UK Tourist Competition

Tourist Competition Gridiron
Tourist Competition Gridiron

Cycling UK Tourist Competition

Find out how you can take part in the Tourist Competition and enjoy an exciting summer of cycling challenges.

Welcome to the home of the Cycling UK Tourist Competition

For more than 30 years Cycling UK members have been touring the country and competing against fellow members for the highest number of points in organised rides.

The Tourist Competition begins on the 1 March and ends on 31 October. The competition is open to members of Cycling UK, although if you are not a member you are still very welcome to cycle a Tourist Competition registered event. Registered events take place all over the country. The more you cycle, the more points you earn. 

The Tourist Competition encourages members to cycle more often by participating in multiple events across the country. It's all about a healthy spirit of competition and having fun, achieving and getting fit.

This year The Tourist Competition included family events, map-reading challenges, treasure hunts, freewheeling skills tests, hill climbs and more. Another 90 Tourist Competition events were put on by various Member Groups all over the country.

Congratulations to all participants, and a huge thank you also to all event organisers for the work you've put in to the rides over the last year. 

This season has now ended. Please find this year's interim results attached below.

Registration and results for the 2018 Tourist Competition

Due to feedback from last year, we made a couple of changes to the registration process.

To be registered for the 2018 Tourist Competition and for your points to count, you needed to register as an individual participant. Registration for the Tourist Competition has now closed.

You could also have registered for the Competition using snail mail or email, or by phone using contact details below. Because of this update to the Tourist Competition rules, the only information you needed to give any ride organiser was your name and membership number.

Event organisers please don't forget to send in your results if you haven't yet. We can add your results to the Official Results set to be released in mid-December. Please use the 2018 Results Template below and email it to us.

The rules for the 2018 points system has also been given a minor change - every ride except Category E rides are ten points, no matter how many an individual has participated in. Please refer to the full 2018 Tourist Competition Rules below for more information.

Mille Miglia take a break

For over ten years, Tourist Competition participants could also gain awards in an additional element of the Cycling UK Tourist Competition; the Mille Miglia. Each rider's distance cycled in Tourist Competitions over the year was totted up, and gold, silver and bronze certificates were awarded according to total distance ridden.

Because of the waning popularity of this element of the competition, the Mille Miglia took a break for the 2018 season. We will be reviewing all our competitions and rides throughout the year - so if you would like this element to make a return, please let us know.

For further information about the Cycling UK Tourist Competition please email or contact us on 01483 238 301.