Kaya Burgess speaking at the National Dinner
Kaya Burgess speaking at the National Dinner

Celebrating cycling in Sheffield at the National Dinner

CTC’s AGM and National Dinner was held this year in Sheffield. With the AGM meeting out of the way, members sat down to enjoy a meal and celebrate the achievements of 2011.

CTC welcomed Times reporter Kaya Burgess, who spoke about the paper's nationwide campaign ‘Cities fit for Cycling’ that was inspired by the serious injury of fellow Times reporter Mary Bowers. Kaya talked about his personal experiences of campaigning and the importance of the joint work with CTC to push through changes resulting in more and safer cycling for people in Britain.

Sara Olof was named CTC Volunteer of the Year 2011 for her tireless work leading and organising rides. Runner-ups Andrew Abbess and Jim Bush were also praised for their outstanding work in cycling.

Reidvale Youth ‘n’ Action from Scotland won CTC Youth Project of the Year. Since the launch last year, the project has done a fantastic job of promoting cycling in one of Glasgow’s most deprived areas, where male life expectancy is lower than in areas of the Gaza strip because of poor diet, crime, alcohol and drug abuse. Tackling social and economic issues through cycling and training is the main target of the project.

John Whiteley was awarded the CTC Campaigning Achievement of the Year for his role in setting up the Calderdale Cycling Forum, which brings together local cycling community reps and the local authority to discuss issues of concern.

2011 winners

Sara Olof
CTC Volunteer of the Year & Winner of the Moss Medallion

Andrew Abbess
Runner up, CTC National Volunteer of the Year

Jim Bush
Third place, CTC National Volunteer of the Year

John Whiteley
CTC Campaigning Achievement of the Year

Reidvale Youth ‘n’ Action
Youth Project of the Year

Three members were also highly commended at the dinner: Ashley Parmenter, Kirby James, respectively from the East and South West of England, along with Michael Gray from Scotland.

Therese Bjorn