Barrow Central Wheelers

Welcome message for visitors: 

Welcome to Barrow Central Wheelers homepage, who are an affilated group of CTC.


About The Group

Barrow Central Wheelers are a CTC affilated group.

The Barrow Central Wheelers was formed in 1933 when two of the clubs of that era combined. The club gets its name from the Barrow Central railway station where the first club runs started from.

Over the years, the club has taken part in all forms of cycling and cycle racing with some of it's members representing Great Britain at the highest level.
At the present time the club is predominantly a time trialling club promoting 3 open events and 21 club events each year with an annual prize giving held at the end of October.

The club still has a small active road racing section and a touring group that have very close ties to the Cumbria Cycling Club which is active most weekends and organises weekend runs and at least one major continental tour each year.

For more information please go to the Barrow Central Wheelers Website.


Catchment area

Catchment area of the group: 

About details

Group contact details

Mike Edwards – 01229 837412
Visit Barrow Central Wheelers website
Chairman Allan Nelson 01229 837412 Web Editor Allan Nelson 01229 587996

Our main events

There are no events entered at this time, please contact the group for more details.

Our regular rides & events

Please contact the group for further details

About our rides

Information about the group rides: 

Date Event Start Course Timekeeper Marshals
  05-Apr-2017 10 Club Event 18:30 Coast Road    
  12-Apr-2017 10 Club Event 18:30 Coast Road    
  15-Apr-2017 BCW SpoCo Open event (21 mile) 14:00 Coast Road-21 (L212)   Scott Smith
  19-Apr-2017 10 Club Event 18:30 Haverthwaite    
  26-Apr-2017 Circuit of Rusland Trophy 18:30 Rusland-Haverthwaite    
  02-May-2017 Salt Ayre Criterium 18:00 Salt Ayre Graham Carrick  
  03-May-2017 10 Club Event 18:30 Haverthwaite    
  10-May-2017 Circuit of Coniston (1) 18:30 Lowick    
  17-May-2017 Hadwin Cup 25 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  24-May-2017 15 Club Event 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  31-May-2017 Circuit of Coniston (Inter-Club) 19:00 Lowick    
  06-Jun-2017 Salt Ayre Criterium 18:00 Salt Ayre Graham Carrick  
  07-Jun-2017 10 Club Event 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  14-Jun-2017 10 Club Event 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  21-Jun-2017 The Jackson Trophy 25 19:00 Coast Road-25    
  28-Jun-2017 10 Club Event (2-up TTT) 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  04-Jul-2017 Salt Ayre Criterium 18:00 Salt Ayre John Stephenson  
  05-Jul-2017 Inter-Club 21 19:00 Coast Road-21 (L212)    
  12-Jul-2017 Club Cup 25 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  19-Jul-2017 10 Club Event 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  26-Jul-2017 20 Club Event 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  02-Aug-2017 10 Club Event (road bikes) 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  08-Aug-2017 Salt Ayre Criterium 18:00 Salt Ayre John Stephenson  
  09-Aug-2017 10 Club Event 19:00 Haverthwaite    
  16-Aug-2017 The Furness Trophy 21 19:00 Coast Road-21 (L212)    
  21-Aug-2017 Woodland HC 18:30 Woodland    
  23-Aug-2017 10 Club Event 18:30 Coast Road    
  28-Aug-2017 Bigland HC (Inter-Club) 18:30 Bigland    
  30-Aug-2017 10 Club Event 18:30 Coast Road    
  01-Sep-2017 10 Club Event (Fancy Dress night) 18:30 Coast Road    
  04-Sep-2017 Gamswell HC 18:30 Gamswell    
  11-Sep-2017 Knotallow HC 18:30 Knotallow

  • Patron: Her Majesty The Queen
  • President: Jon Snow
  • Chief Executive: Paul Tuohy
  • Cycling UK is a trading name of Cyclists’ Touring Club (CTC) a company limited by guarantee, registered in England no: 25185. Registered as a charity in England and Wales charity no: 1147607 and in Scotland charity no: SC042541. Registered office: Parklands, Railton Road, Guildford, Surrey GU2 9JX.

Copyright © CTC 2016

Terms and Conditions