Cycling UK Tourist Competition rules for 2016 - TC2016

The rules and regulations for organising or taking part in a Tourist Competition event.
  1. The Tourist Competition is open to all members of the Cycling UK.
  1. The rules for participating in the events in the Tourist Competition are those of the individual event.
  1. There is no entry fee for the Tourist Competition, the only fee being that levied by the organiser for events entered.
  1. All members riding in eligible events will be regarded as entered in the Tourist Competition.
  1. All participants riding in Cycling UK Tourist Competition events must have their membership number logged next to their name and included on all results submission forms.
  1. There is no restriction on the number of events ridden by each competitor. Each rider's best 12 scores will be counted for the Competition.
  1. The list of events eligible for the Tourist Competition will be published in Cycle magazine and at the website The Competition runs from 1 March to 31 October each year.
  2. Enquiries about and entries to individual events should be addressed to each event organiser, whose details are shown in the list of events.
  3. There are 6 categories of event, as follows:
    1. 25-79 miles (40-127 km)
    2. 80-119 miles (128-192 km)
    3. 120-185 miles (193-299 km)
    4. 186 miles and over (300 km and over)
    5. Competitive events (e.g. Map-reading, Treasure Hunts, Freewheeling, Tourist competitions, Hill-climbs)
    6. Off-road rides.
  4. Events shorter than 25 miles / 40 km that are designed to attract Junior riders and families may be entered for the competition, but only Junior riders will earn Tourist Competition points for these events.
  1. The Tourist Competition is decided on a points scoring basis.
    1. Non-Competitive events (a,b,c,d,f) are awarded 10 points for each successfully completed event.
    2. Competitive events are scored based on the number of Starters in the event.
      1. For coming in the First 10% - 12 points
      2. 11-40% - 11 points
      3. 41-70% - 10 points
      4. 71-100% - 9 points

The points for competitive events are determined by simply dividing the position by the number of starters. Clearly, if there are fewer than ten starters, nobody will be awarded 12 points.

  1. Two points are deducted for each duplicated event category. For example, a first 'a' ride would be awarded 10 points, a second 8 points and a third or subsequent ride 6 points. A minimum of 6 points is awarded for any one ride.
  2. It will be seen that the maximum score can be achieved by completing two rides in categories a, b, c, d and f, and finishing in the first 10% of two 'e' events. If a rider does not complete two rides in each non-competitive category, a third top 10% finish in a competitive event will be required.
  3. An organiser of a category 'e' event who is ineligible to ride in that event will be awarded 10 points subject to a deduction of 1 point for a duplicated 'e' event with a maximum of two events to count.
  1. In the case of a tie for any of the awards, the following tie-breakers will be applied:
    1. The winner will be the rider who has ridden at least two rides in each category.
    2. If this does not separate the riders, the winner will be the rider with the better average position in 'e' events relative to the number of starters. All competitive events ridden by the rider will be counted, subject to averaging the same number of events for each rider (for example, if Rider A has ridden 4 competitive events, and Rider B ridden 6, all of Rider A's events will be compared with the best 4 of Rider B's). If not all riders have ridden competitive events, those that have take precedence.
  1. Awards to competitors with the highest numbers of points will be as follows:
    1. Overall winner Shaftesbury Trophy * and Arthur Moss medal
    2. Second and Third overall Medallions
    3. 1st Woman E.F. Butterworth Trophy * and Medallion
    4. 1st Junior (Boy) Junior Trophy * and Medallion
    5. 1st Junior (Girl) Brooks Trophy * (donated by ESCA) and Medallion
    6. 1st Male Veteran P. H. Catt Memorial Trophy * and Medallion
    7. 1st Female Veteran Craven Vase *
    8. 1st Team Team Trophy * and Medallion for each of four rider from the same Member Group
    9. 1st Man (Scotland) Medallion
    10. 1st Woman (Scotland) Medallion (Perpetual trophies)
  1. Certificates will be sent to all competitors who complete ten events. In addition, special awards will be made to Junior riders as follows:
    1. For riders who are 12 and under on 1st March, Gold, Silver and Bronze awards will be given for completing 5, 4 and 3 rides, respectively. Each award winner receives a certificate, and Gold winners will also be eligible for a badge.
    2. For riders aged 13 to 17 on 1st March, similar awards are available, but the qualification is to complete 7, 5 and 3 events, respectively.
    3. Juniors are those under age 18 on 1st March and Veterans are those over 50 on 1st March.
  1. Tandem riders will be awarded points in categories a,b,c,d and f. There will be no points for tandem riders in 'e' events as these are competitive events in which all entrants must ride individually if they wish to record Tourist Competition points. Collusion between solo riders in an 'e' event will render both riders liable to receiving no Tourist Competition points for that event. Many organisers will allow pairs and tandems to participate within a competitive event, on the understanding that they are not included in the Tourist Competition result.
  1. Any complaint regarding the conduct of an event should in the first instance be referred to the organiser. If there is no resolution to the complaint reference should be made to the Cycling UK Complaints Procedure.
  1. Any complaint regarding the conduct of the Tourist Competition should in the first instance be referred to the Tourist Competition co-ordinator. The latest submission for any complaint will be 21 days after the publication of the end of year Tourist Competition result. If there is no resolution to the complaint reference should be made to the Cycling UK Complaints Procedure. 


  • Patron: Her Majesty The Queen
  • President: Jon Snow
  • Chief Executive: Paul Tuohy
  • Cycling UK is a trading name of Cyclists’ Touring Club (CTC) a company limited by guarantee, registered in England no: 25185. Registered as a charity in England and Wales charity no: 1147607 and in Scotland charity no: SC042541. Registered office: Parklands, Railton Road, Guildford, Surrey GU2 9JX.

Copyright © CTC 2016

Terms and Conditions