2013 Winners

CTC Chief Executive Gordon Seabright announced the winners of the National and Regional Annual Volunteer of the Year Awards at the CTC Annual Dinner and Prizegiving on 10 May 2014 at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Glasgow.

The trophies and certificates were presented by Alison Johnstone MSP, who is a keen supporter of cycling in Scotland. 

The CTC Annual Dinner was hosted by CTC Glasgow and was held at the Radisson Blu Hotel right next to Glasgow Central Station. Many CTC members and guests travelled to Glasgow to support the winners. 


Glynis Francis is a World Champion, a grandma and an inspiration to hundreds of Manchester women. Her ground-breaking cycling network for women, Team Glow, has attracted a steady stream of women – some of whom had not picked up a bike for decades – and turned them into accomplished cyclists.
Colin Waters
Colin is the backbone of Fleet Cycling. He organises rides in Hampshire and even takes a group every year to the Semaine Fédérale in France. Colin was also instrumental in the creation of the Fleet bike path.
Graham Farrington
Graham Farrington is currently chairman of Cycle Somerset, a local leisure cycle club based in Taunton. He is a founding member, treasurer and volunteer with Taunton Bike Club, which runs cycle-based activities for 8 – 16-year-olds.
Bill Telfer
Bill Telfer volunteers to make cycling safer in Scotland. He launched a 20mph limit campaign for Langholm, where 71% of residents surveyed supported Bill's campaign.
Jackie Cooper has made a great contribution Stevenage and North Herts CTC. Her great organisational ability is reflected in her choice of roles and she has been a key part of encouraging more people to get out on their bikes and make new friends.
Stevenage and N. Herts
Stevenage and North Herts CTC are celebrating their Silver Jubilee. They organised a record 231 bike rides in 2013. That’s an average of more than four a week. The rides varied from 8 kilometres (5 miles) to 210 kms (130 miles). Last year, their membership increased by 11.3% to 414.
Sue Coles is a CTC Local Campaigner who gets results. She sucessfully protected a cycle path that was due to be removed and works hard making sure her local councils in Hampshire listen to cyclists.
Elizabeth Reather is Chair of Leeds Cycling Campaign and has worked hard to improve cycling in Leeds. She became involved in campaigning for better conditions for cyclists in Leeds after finding that her bicycle commute in Leeds inevitably included an extremely fast and dangerous road.
  • Patron: Her Majesty The Queen
  • President: Jon Snow
  • Chief Executive: Paul Tuohy
  • Cycling UK is a trading name of Cyclists’ Touring Club (CTC) a company limited by guarantee, registered in England no: 25185. Registered as a charity in England and Wales charity no: 1147607 and in Scotland charity no: SC042541. Registered office: Parklands, Railton Road, Guildford, Surrey GU2 9JX.

Copyright © CTC 2016

Terms and Conditions