Regional Volunteers of the Year for the East of England – Emitremmus Ride Makers

Emitremmus Ride Markers accepting their Award
Emitremmus Ride Markers accepting their Award
Emitremmus Desrever has been getting people on their bikes for eighteen years. It now attracts over 500 entries and a lot of favourable publicity.

Many of the riders are local but several are visitors to Stevenage. With its clever name ( summer time reversed backwards) the event is always held in October on the day the clocks go back !

The event has grown with its reputation but organising it takes a huge amount of voluntary effort. The challenge is for people to cycle the 101 kilometres from Stevenage to Saffron Walden and back in less than eight hours. In 2011 a slightly slower “Emit Lite” option was introduced for people to ride the 67 kilometres to Hare Street, Barkway, Therfield and back.  The volunteers are a busy bunch taking charge of everything from risk assessments to designing routes.

Emitremmus Desrever has a core team which is made up of Jim Brown, Alison Mills, Dan Moore and Luke Peters who are backed up by several more including Diane Cawthorn, Jackie Cooper, Susan Hoskins and Elaine Walker.

  • Patron: Her Majesty The Queen
  • President: Jon Snow
  • Chief Executive: Paul Tuohy
  • Cycling UK is a trading name of Cyclists’ Touring Club (CTC) a company limited by guarantee, registered in England no: 25185. Registered as a charity in England and Wales charity no: 1147607 and in Scotland charity no: SC042541. Registered office: Parklands, Railton Road, Guildford, Surrey GU2 9JX.

Copyright © CTC 2016

Terms and Conditions